Peace and Freedom

By Gary Cheung, Jeffie Lam and Ng Kang-chung
South China Morning Post

Ronny Tong bowed to the cameras to thank the public for their support in the past 11 years. Photo: Dickson Lee

Moderate pan-democrat Ronny Tong Ka-wah dramatically announced he was resigning as a legislator just hours after he told his Civic Party he would be quitting the party he co-founded nine years ago amid a deepening rift within Hong Kong’s pan-democratic camp.

At an emotional press conference, Tong fought back tears as he said: “I would like to take this opportunity to say sorry to the people who have supported me. I have barely achieved anything though I have made my greatest efforts in the legislature in the past 11 years.”

He bowed before the camera to apologise to the people who supported him.

“I handed in my resignation letter to Legco president Jasper Tsang Yok-sing at 8.30am. My resignation will…

View original post 830 more words

